- Indian Orthodox Herald – Breaking Catholicate, Malankara, Indian Orthodox Church News And Doctrinal Information - http://www.orthodoxherald.com -

Inauguration of Kottarakkara-Punalur Diocese and Installation of Metropolitan

KOTTARAKKARA: The Malankara Metropolitan and Catholicos of the East Mar Baselios Marthoma Paulose II will inaugurate the newly constituted Kottarakara-Punalur Diocese on Sunday, January 23, 2010.

Installation (Sunthroniso) of the first Metropolitan of the diocese Dr. Yuhanon Mar Theodoros will take place on Saturday, January 22, 2010 at St. Johns Orthodox Church, Chemmanthoor, Punalur. Holy Qurbana will begin at 7am, followed by the Sunthroniso service. Catholicos of the East Baselios Marthoma Paulos II will be the chief celebrant. Most of the Metropolitans of the Church will also expected to attend the Sunthroniso service.

Official reception from the Kottarakkara-Punalur Diocese to the newly installed Catholicos Mar Baselios Marthoma Paulose II is also planned to take place during the events of 22nd and 23rd January 2010.

Inauguration of the Diocese and reception to the Catholicos is to be held at Orthodox Christian Centre, Pulamon, Kottarakara on Sunday. Prior to the public meeting a colorful procession in honor of the Catholicos of the East and the newly installed Metropolitan will pass through the heart of the town from Boys High School Ground, Kottarakara. The procession will start at 3pm.

The public meeting is to begin at 4.00 pm. Dr. Yuhanon Mar Theodoros will preside over. Central Cabinet Minister Mr. Vayalar Ravi will inaugurate the meeting. Thereafter Mar Baselios Marthoma Paulose II, the Catholicos and Malankara Metropolitan, is to inaugurate the Kottarakara-Punalur Diocese. Member of Indian Parliament Kodikunnil Suresh, Member of Kerala Legislative Assembly Adv. Aysha Potti, Ex. Minister of Kerala State R. Balakrishna Pillai, Metropolitan Thomas Mar Athanasius, Metropolitan Zacharia Mar Anthonios, Metropolitan Paulos Mar Pachomios, Metropolitan Dr. Gabriel Mar Gregorios, Metropolitan Dr. Yuhanon Mar Chrisostmos, Metropolitan Yuhanon Mar Polycarpos, Metropolitan Dr. Mathews Mar Themothios, Metropolitan Abraham Mar Epiphanios, Metropolitan Dr. Zacharia Mar Aprem, Thomas Mar Themothios Episcopa (Marthoma Church), Dr. George Joseph, Sabha Secretary, and M.G. George Muthoot, the Lay Trustee will felicitate. Thousands of faithful from all parishes of the Diocese are expected to participate in the procession and the inaugural meeting.

New Sent in: Fr Spencer Koshy, Chairman, Publicity committee