Malankara Association 2010 at Sasthamkotta to Meet Tomorrow Feb 17

Written By: on Feb 16th, 2010 and filed under Church News, Episcopal Election, News.

SASTHAMKOTTA: The Malankara Syrian Christian Association, the parliament of the Orthodox Church, will be held on Wednesday, February 17, 2010 at Mount Horeb Ashram- Sasthamkotta.

Addressing media persons at Kollam on Saturday, Zacharia Mar Anthonios, Metropolitan of the Kollam Diocese, said that the main agenda of the meeting was to elect seven new Metropolitans for the Church.

11 priests have been short listed for election. Fr. Dr. George Pulikkottil, Fr. Dr. John Mathews, Fr. Dr. Nathaniel Ramban, Fr. V. M. James, Fr. Yuhanon Ramban, Elavukkattu Fr. Geevarghese Ramban, Fr. Skriah OIC, Fr. Dr. Sabu Kuriakose, Fr. M. K. Kurien, Fr. V. M. Abraham and Fr. J. Mathukutty are in the official panel of the Church presented by the Sabha Managing Committee.

The seven Metropolitans will be elected through secret ballot. Metropolitans, priests, managing committee members and lay representatives will cast their votes in the election.

The registration will begin at 9am. Association members will have to verify themselves at 41 counters according to the dioceses set at the entrance of the Association Nagar from morning 9 am to 12 pm. After verification of Document of Legitimacy (Adhikara Pathram) the delegates will receive identity cards from respective counters. The members will have to submit their Adhikara Pathram at the counter and thereafter they will get the official leaflets on election procedure.

Catholicos of the East and Malankara Metropolitan Baselios Marthoma Didymos I will preside over the Association. It will begin with a prayer at the Mar Elia Chapel of Mount Horeb Ashram at 12.30 p.m. Thereafter the Malankara Metropolitan and other Metropolitans will proceed ceremoniously to the dais.

Around 4,000 delegates from across the globe, including those from America, Europe and African Continents, Gulf Countries, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia will participate in the Malankara Association 2010.

“A Five-Member Tribunal, chaired by the Catholicos-elect, Paulose Mar Milithios, would look into the complaints over the list of delegates for the association meeting”, Dr. George Joseph, the Association Secretary, said. Fr. K. A. Abraham, K. T. Chacko I.A.S, Adv. P. G. Jacob and Adv. K. K. Thomas are onboard as jury members of the ‘Tribunal’.

“Those who will be elected to the episcopate of the Church on Wednesday will later on be consecrated as Episcopoi or Metropolitans”, Dr. George Joseph, further said.

Polling booths will be arranged and counting of votes will be held immediately after the polling. Alexander Daniel IPS, the additional Director General of BSF is the returning officer for the Episcopal Election 2010.

The Malankara Association is the body that elects members of the managing committee, bishops, the Catholicos and Malankara metropolitan. Malankara metropolitan is the president of the Malankara Syrian Christian Association.

Candidates Profiles
Travel directions to the venue

Click For More Articles By:

Readers are welcome to leave their thoughts and reflections below by posting a comment on this topic.
(No Ratings Yet)

Email This Post Email This Post

Print This Post Print This Post

Disclaimer: Indian Orthodox Herald does not moderate or edit the comments posted in this column. All opinions are solely of the writers and IOH holds no responsibility what so ever for the views written here below.

Leave a Reply

Advertisement CLICK HERE

Photo Gallery

Log in / © 2002-2009 BMM Creations Inc. All Rights Reserved.